The Net-Brainer

The Net-Brainer (http://forums.netbraintech.com/index.php)
-   NetBrain Product (http://forums.netbraintech.com/forumdisplay.php?f=19)
-   -   Really? Duplicate hostnames confuse NetBrain? (http://forums.netbraintech.com/showthread.php?t=21808)

crowan2477 02-02-2018 10:20 AM

Really? Duplicate hostnames confuse NetBrain?
 
1 Attachment(s)
I found out yesterday that if two network devices just happen to share the same hostname, NetBrain gets confused and winds up deleting or otherwise "losing" network objects, as well as linking network objects that should never be linked.

I've used CiscoWorks for years and never once had this problem.

We have a large network. Some 60 remotes sites. About 1,500 switches. It's inevitable that there will be duplicate hostnames. But "hostname" is just one attribute of many. The key distinguishing attribute should be management IP address.

Has anyone else experienced this?


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2009 NetBrain, Inc. All rights reserved.