The Net-Brainer

The Net-Brainer (http://forums.netbraintech.com/index.php)
-   NetBrain Product (http://forums.netbraintech.com/forumdisplay.php?f=19)
-   -   Need to map end devices (http://forums.netbraintech.com/showthread.php?t=18924)

dtsao 04-05-2013 04:09 PM

Need to map end devices
 
Hi,

We just installed NetBrain. We have endpoint devices (windows boxes) which have SNMP credentials. How can I get NetBrain to discover these? When I do a site discovery, these devices do not show up. Thanks!

Gerry 04-06-2013 10:14 PM

Re: Need to map end devices
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dtsao (Post 20351)
Hi,

We just installed NetBrain. We have endpoint devices (windows boxes) which have SNMP credentials. How can I get NetBrain to discover these? When I do a site discovery, these devices do not show up. Thanks!

U can set the snmp strings properly in Netbrain(Shared Network Settings or Live Network Settings) first, then discover the windows pc ip addresses, they should be listed on the left Workspace pane. Or you can discover the access-layer switch and run a system benchmark to build the L2 topo, and then filter the windows ip addresses in One-IP Table (L2 TopologyOne-IP Table), drag and drop the entry to map them in L2 page.
Thanks

aandreyy 02-07-2017 11:04 AM

Re: Need to map end devices
 
i have related question to this one. Is it possible discover end point devices without SNMP? Lets say i can add from file end device list (with names, IPs, interfaces) and run some algorithm like if those IPs not answer to ping they can be deleted after regenerating map. Or any other way?

NetBrainTAC 02-07-2017 10:32 PM

Re: Need to map end devices
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by aandreyy (Post 23457)
i have related question to this one. Is it possible discover end point devices without SNMP? Lets say i can add from file end device list (with names, IPs, interfaces) and run some algorithm like if those IPs not answer to ping they can be deleted after regenerating map. Or any other way?

You can try to import the End System via a CSV file. And then you can tune the End systems and remove them whose are not ping-able. See below:

http://ws2.netbraintech.com/download/forum/18924.jpg

aandreyy 02-08-2017 01:33 AM

Re: Need to map end devices
 
hi, thanks for replay. I know this way for importing end devices, but i need automatic process for removing them from map when they are unavailable (not responding to ping).

NetBrainTAC 02-08-2017 09:49 PM

Re: Need to map end devices
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by aandreyy (Post 23459)
hi, thanks for replay. I know this way for importing end devices, but i need automatic process for removing them from map when they are unavailable (not responding to ping).

Sorry, there is no automatic process. but you may try this way: You can tune the End devices firstly, then remove them whose are not ping-able from workspace. Then use the System Benchmark Auto update Map feature to update the maps. The update map feature will remove the devices from map. Server Workspace webpage>Schedule Task>System Benchmark>System Benchmark Properties>Auto update map.

aandreyy 02-24-2017 08:49 AM

Re: Need to map end devices
 
maybe something can be possible to do using QAPP?

NetBrainTAC 02-26-2017 08:07 PM

Re: Need to map end devices
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by aandreyy (Post 23488)
maybe something can be possible to do using QAPP?

Sorry, Qapp does not support to do it.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:04 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2009 NetBrain, Inc. All rights reserved.