The Net-Brainer

The Net-Brainer (http://forums.netbraintech.com/index.php)
-   NetBrain Product (http://forums.netbraintech.com/forumdisplay.php?f=19)
-   -   Displaying information on L2 map (http://forums.netbraintech.com/showthread.php?t=21048)

ap1436 02-24-2014 02:41 PM

Displaying information on L2 map
 
By default on a layer2 map it displays the device name, IP and model for each device. Is there anyway to manipulate that information on the map and/or add additional data/fields?

Also can you add additional information to the links besides just the interface data, would be nice to display the "description" information also.

NetBrainTAC 02-25-2014 02:24 AM

Re: Displaying information on L2 map
 
Hi ap1436,

You can change device name, Management IP and model information on the map. But NetBrain OE don't support customization to these field (device and link level) at the moment.

Network data is presented in hierarchy on Q-maps. Different data layers can be presented at different magnifications. By default, a newly created Q-map is presented at a magnification level of 100%.

Only the following information can be displayed in a Q-map:

•Device Name
•Interface Name
•Interface IP address
•LAN/WAN Name
•Routing protocol
•Multicasting Mode
•Inbound ACL
•Outbound ACL
•MPLS VRF
•Description
•CPU
•Memory
•Proxy Ping
•Interface Traffic
•Link error
•Device Note
•Observer Focus
•Observer Show
•Relevant Map

ap1436 02-25-2014 10:46 AM

Re: Displaying information on L2 map
 
I am aware of most of the fileds mentioned but "description". is that the description of the interface and if so how do i get that to display?

NetBrainTAC 02-26-2014 09:01 PM

Re: Displaying information on L2 map
 
Hi ap1436,

Sorry for the confusion.

For L3 map:
You can zoom in or out of a Q-map to show different layers of data. Rolling the mouse wheel forward/backward will zoom in or out of a Q-map at a default percentage of 20% per one step.

You can customize the data you want to show on Q-maps and at which magnification level the data layers start to become visible. Then press the F2 key on the map, and the view Options window opens. As you can see, by default, the description field will show up at 240%. If you don't want a field to show up on the map, just deselect the check-box next to the Data Layer name.
http://www.netbraintech.com/share/Case7224.PNG

For L2 map:
You can zoom in or out of a Q-map to show different layers of data, however, for L2 map, NetBrain OE don't support customization to these field at the moment. Unfortunately, there isn't a description field for L2 map as well.

[NetBrain]Case#00007224


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2009 NetBrain, Inc. All rights reserved.