The Net-Brainer

The Net-Brainer (http://forums.netbraintech.com/index.php)
-   One-Skill-at-a-Time (http://forums.netbraintech.com/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   Challenge: Why the BGP Neighbor is not UP? (http://forums.netbraintech.com/showthread.php?t=94)

admin 06-15-2009 12:28 AM

Challenge: Why the BGP Neighbor is not UP?
 
http://www.netbraintech.com/share/wh..._is_not_up.gif
Routers R1 and R3 are configured as following to be BGP neighbor. And router R2 has two static routes so that R1 is able to ping the interface loopback0 of R3 and R3 is able to ping the loopback0 of R1.

R1
interface loopback0
ip address 1.1.1.1 255.255.255.255
!
interface fastethernet0/0
ip address 12.1.1.1 255.255.255.0
!
router bgp 65001
no synchronization
bgp log-neighbor-changes
network 1.1.1.1 mask 255.255.255.255
neighbor 3.3.3.3 remote-as 65001
no auto-summary
!
ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 12.1.1.2



R3
interface loopback0
ip address 3.3.3.3 255.255.255.255
!
interface fastethernet0/0
ip address 23.1.1.3 255.255.255.0
!
router bgp 65001
no synchronization
bgp log-neighbor-changes
network 3.3.3.3 mask 255.255.255.255
neighbor 1.1.1.1 remote-as 65001
no auto-summary
!
ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 23.1.1.2




The "show ip bgp neighbors" result of R1 is displayed as following:

The BGP neighbors are not successfully established. Please select TWO possible reasons:

A. Missed the ebgp multi-hop configuration.
B. Missed the update-source configuration.
C. The no synchronization command was configured.
D. Default route was used to access the BGP neighbor.

http://www.netbraintech.com/share/wh...is_not_up2.gif
To view the answer, please click Here

06-17-2009 05:59 AM

answer
 
The answer D looks interesting, I never heard before. After a experiment, I saw the result was really like this.

06-17-2009 06:01 AM

question
 
Can the BGP neighbor be established if the hold time and keepaive of the two peers are mismatched ?

06-17-2009 06:04 AM

answer
 
The iBGP Peers are using each other's loopback address for the source peering address. You have to use the "Update Source Loopback0" command on each iBGP peer to properly establish the peer and pass iBGP routes. Also you have to have valid routes through R2.

Wouldn't be A: This is not a eBGP Configuration but an iBGP configuration
Wouldn't be C: You usually want no sync so iBGP doesn't rely on the IGP RIB to pass iBGP routes

Chris 06-17-2009 06:06 AM

what about D
 
What about D?

06-17-2009 06:07 AM

reply
 
OPNET Sentinel or NetDoctor would automatically find and alert you on the issue! But maybe that is cheating for this academic exercise :)

10-29-2011 11:17 AM

Re: Challenge: Why the BGP Neighbor is not UP?
 
because their is a use of default route ...
for neighborship to UP ,, there is a need to define a particular route / static route for that neighbor router IP ......... on any one of the neighbor :-)

04-26-2012 08:36 AM

Re: Challenge: Why the BGP Neighbor is not UP?
 
Answer is B, update-source is not configured

05-05-2012 12:51 AM

Re: Challenge: Why the BGP Neighbor is not UP?
 
B would be the best answer although D may also cause you issues, it should work with this, but you would be better off running an IGP to cover your Loopback and L3 links between devices.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:54 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2009 NetBrain, Inc. All rights reserved.