Netbrain
Home NetBrain Product One-Skill-at-a-Time Search Mark Forums Read
Go BackThe Net-BrainerNetBrain Product Collecting data from Cisco firewalls

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-07-2010, 11:48 AM
Erick Erick is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 116
Default Collecting data from Cisco firewalls

So I think I finally solved my question of why some Cisco PIX and ASA units work while others do not. It appears if I leave the command "pager lines x" (where x != 0) then Netbrain times out due to the returned "<--- More --->" prompt. If I change the pager to 0, or no it, then I get configs.

The problem here is that anyone who has access to the firewall can set the pager back and this happens quite a bit. When looking at a firewall locally having the More prompt is quite nice.

To that end how do I tell Netbrain to send a CR when it sees a More prompt?
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 12:42 PM
Abraham L Abraham L is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 49
Default Re: Collecting data from Cisco firewalls

Hi, Erick,

You analysis is exactly right. NetBrain issues "no pager" command before collecting the data. However there is a bug in our current release: the command is issued in wrong command mode for Cisco PIX/ASA firewall. In our next release, we will fix this problem. Also to be safe, we are going to watch "more" for the return. If there is "more" , we will send CR and continue collecting the data.

Thanks for the feedback. Your continuing suggestion and feedback certainly help us a lot to improve our product and we greatly appreciate it.

Best regards,

Abraham
Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 01:29 PM
Erick Erick is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 116
Default Re: Collecting data from Cisco firewalls

Thanks for the verification Abraham. Do you have an idea as to when the next release will be out with this fix?
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 03:33 AM
angelaz angelaz is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 19
Default Re: Collecting data from Cisco firewalls

Hi Erick,

I believe it will be updated on our next software version, 3.1 Beta, scheduled to release on next month.

Regards,
Angela
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:57 PM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000-2010 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright 2009 NetBrain, Inc. All rights reserved.