Netbrain
Home NetBrain Product One-Skill-at-a-Time Search Mark Forums Read
Go BackThe Net-BrainerNetBrain Product Build your workspace by importing show command data

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-10-2012, 03:54 AM
Gerry Gerry is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 69
Default Build your workspace by importing show command data

As we all known, we can use the Discovery feature to build our workspace, but if we cannot access the devices, what could we do? The following will show you how to build your workspace without access to the devices.

1. Build your workspace through importing the configuration files.
If you do not have access to all or some of the network devices, you can add these devices by importing their configuration files. But first of all, you should get their configuration files. The TXT format of the files will be fine.



(1) Open NetBrain OE workstation and switch to the Workspace view and click the Import Configuration button to open the Import Configuration Files window.

Configuration files can be imported into the system using one of the following ways:
(a) If you want to add all device configuration files located in a folder, click the From Folder… button. Select the folder from the pop-up window and then click the OK button.



All configuration files you just selected to import will be displayed in the Import Configuration Files window.

If you want to view the detail of the conflictive configuration, select the file and then click the View button. The configuration will be shown in the pop-up text editor. If you want to remove a conflictive configuration file, select the file and then click the Remove Selected button. The selected file will be deleted. If you want to compare the differences between the configuration file which you will import and the one already exists in the workspace, select the file and compare. All of the options (view, remove and compare) are available in the right-click options.



After you import the configuration files successfully, they will be shown in the workspace pane.


Last edited by Gerry; 05-10-2012 at 04:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 04:34 AM
Gerry Gerry is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 69
Default Re: Build your workspace via importing show command data

(b) If you want to add one or more individual device configuration files, click the From Files… button. Select the configuration files you want to add from the Open window and then click the OK button.



(c) If you want to add a configuration file from the clipboard, click the Clipboard button and then paste, edit and save the configuration file from the pop-up window.



(2) Import the configuration files.

2. Build L2 topology via importing show command data

If you would like to build your L2 topology without device availability. You can use the “show” command on your device to get associated files (ARP table, CDP table, Route table, MAC table).

(a) First-of-all, you should import the configuration files to build your workspace, please follow Step 1 for reference.

(b) Then you should get the associated files (ARP table, CDP table, Route table, MAC table) through show command data. Copy the data from the show command to a TXT file.



Note: One TXT file can hold many tables for different devices, for example, route table, MAC address table and so on. But OE Workstation currently supports to import the following show commands data, you should input the full command and make sure that all of the commands are lowercase, as follows:
show cdp neighbor detail
show arp
show mac-address-table dynamic
show ip route
show interface
show spanning-tree blockedports
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 04:43 AM
Gerry Gerry is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 69
Default Re: Build your workspace via importing show command data

(c) After you get the accessory files (ARP table, CDP table, Route table, etc), you need to import the accessory files, View--Data folder--right-click the Local default option—Import CLI Data from Folder or Files.



After importing the configuration files, some tabs in the local default data folder will become visible, Such as show commands, CDP table and so on.
Note: you can add one new DataFolder. In this case, we use the Local default DataFolder.

(d) After you import accessory files you still need some settings before you can build the L2 map properly.
L2 Topology—LAN Discover, the Discover L2 Topology of LAN window pops up, In the Input LAN Segment(s) blank area input 0.0.0.0/0(discover all the LAN segments), click the Options, set the Via Cache Data in DataFolder option as Local default. Start Discovery and save the results.


After the discovery, the One-IP Table and Switch Connectivity table have already obtained some data. Switch to L2 Topology tab, you will find these two options: One-IP Table and Switch Connectivity.



Now, you can use the workstation to build the L2 map.
L2 topology in local workspace:



Note: you can use the configuration files to build the workspace to get the network map, but if you want to build your L2 topology, you need the accessory files (Router table, CDP table, etc) and execute the LAN Discover command first. You should choose the correct baseline when you operate the workstation. For an example, Find Path, you should choose the baseline first.
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 03:56 AM
kaage
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Build your workspace by importing show command data

Hi, does this procedure work only for Cisco devices?

I tried to import Juniper Switches this way and it didn't work.
Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 07:19 AM
Gerry Gerry is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 69
Default Re: Build your workspace by importing show command data

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaage View Post
Hi, does this procedure work only for Cisco devices?

I tried to import Juniper Switches this way and it didn't work.
Sorry, currently, it just supports Cisco devices.
Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 10:27 AM
jimstoffel
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Build your workspace by importing show command data

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerry View Post
Sorry, currently, it just supports Cisco devices.
Hi Gerry,
When does NetBrain plan on implementing Juniper Config imports?
J.
Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 07:18 AM
Gerry Gerry is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 69
Default Re: Build your workspace by importing show command data

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimstoffel View Post
Hi Gerry,
When does NetBrain plan on implementing Juniper Config imports?
J.
Currently, Juniper config files can be imported via Import Configuration feature(Workspace>Import Configuration). If you wants to imported Junpier CLI data, I think schedule discovery feature may work for you. From Workspace>Schedule, Enable scheduel discovery, press F1 to bring up the Mannual, it describes the details.

Thx
Gerry
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
Network Design

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:19 AM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright © 2000-2010 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2009 NetBrain, Inc. All rights reserved.