Netbrain
Home NetBrain Product One-Skill-at-a-Time Search Mark Forums Read
Go BackThe Net-BrainerNetBrain Product Displaying information on L2 map

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-24-2014, 02:41 PM
ap1436 ap1436 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 38
Default Displaying information on L2 map

By default on a layer2 map it displays the device name, IP and model for each device. Is there anyway to manipulate that information on the map and/or add additional data/fields?

Also can you add additional information to the links besides just the interface data, would be nice to display the "description" information also.
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2014, 02:24 AM
NetBrainTAC NetBrainTAC is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 493
Default Re: Displaying information on L2 map

Hi ap1436,

You can change device name, Management IP and model information on the map. But NetBrain OE don't support customization to these field (device and link level) at the moment.

Network data is presented in hierarchy on Q-maps. Different data layers can be presented at different magnifications. By default, a newly created Q-map is presented at a magnification level of 100%.

Only the following information can be displayed in a Q-map:

•Device Name
•Interface Name
•Interface IP address
•LAN/WAN Name
•Routing protocol
•Multicasting Mode
•Inbound ACL
•Outbound ACL
•MPLS VRF
•Description
•CPU
•Memory
•Proxy Ping
•Interface Traffic
•Link error
•Device Note
•Observer Focus
•Observer Show
•Relevant Map
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2014, 10:46 AM
ap1436 ap1436 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 38
Default Re: Displaying information on L2 map

I am aware of most of the fileds mentioned but "description". is that the description of the interface and if so how do i get that to display?
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 09:01 PM
NetBrainTAC NetBrainTAC is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 493
Default Re: Displaying information on L2 map

Hi ap1436,

Sorry for the confusion.

For L3 map:
You can zoom in or out of a Q-map to show different layers of data. Rolling the mouse wheel forward/backward will zoom in or out of a Q-map at a default percentage of 20% per one step.

You can customize the data you want to show on Q-maps and at which magnification level the data layers start to become visible. Then press the F2 key on the map, and the view Options window opens. As you can see, by default, the description field will show up at 240%. If you don't want a field to show up on the map, just deselect the check-box next to the Data Layer name.


For L2 map:
You can zoom in or out of a Q-map to show different layers of data, however, for L2 map, NetBrain OE don't support customization to these field at the moment. Unfortunately, there isn't a description field for L2 map as well.

[NetBrain]Case#00007224
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
layer2 map data displayed

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:49 AM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright © 2000-2010 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2009 NetBrain, Inc. All rights reserved.