Netbrain
Home NetBrain Product One-Skill-at-a-Time Search Mark Forums Read
Go BackThe Net-BrainerNetBrain Product Mac Table (IP and DNS)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-19-2017, 01:45 PM
szebula1 szebula1 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 2
Default Mac Table (IP and DNS)

When you pull up a Mac Table for a switch, at the top on the right there is the IP and DNS 'button'. When you click it, it looks like the One-IP table is referenced for the info (IP and DNS). When there are multiple entries for the same Mac entry, it looks like the oldest Retrieved entry is used, which is usually out of date. How do I make sure the most recent Retrieved entry is used?
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 04:02 AM
NetBrainTAC NetBrainTAC is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 369
Default Re: Mac Table (IP and DNS)

Hi, szebula1, yes, when you click “IP and DNS” button, corresponding information is loaded from one-ip table and displayed for you.

In order to use the latest data for L2 calculation and clear old data, please run benchmark task with L2 topology to calculate the topo, please go to http://your server ip/workspace/X, switch to “Schedule Task” tab-“History Data Management”-delete options. You may customize the time interval to delete old L2 topo data to make sure the topo is up to date.

Thanks,
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Forum.jpg (64.4 KB, 2 views)
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 11:50 AM
szebula1 szebula1 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 2
Default Re: Mac Table (IP and DNS)

NetBrainTAC,

If you change the option to keep only the last 7 days, you still might run across this problem if it is retrieved multiple times in those 7 days. I would think it would make more sense if when the 'One-IP' table is referenced that the entry with the most recent retrieval date would be used.
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 09:00 PM
NetBrainTAC NetBrainTAC is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 369
Default Re: Mac Table (IP and DNS)

Hi, you may try to select "Filter DHCP Entries" check box in the One-IP Table pane. When a new entry whose MAC address is same with the existing one in the One-IP table, the old entry will be overwritten. If you run into any issue, feel free to contact us at support@netbraintech.com. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:47 PM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright © 2000-2010 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright © 2009 NetBrain, Inc. All rights reserved.