Netbrain
Home NetBrain Product One-Skill-at-a-Time Search Mark Forums Read
Go BackThe Net-BrainerNetBrain Product Public Device Groups

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-28-2011, 01:48 PM
Erick Erick is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 116
Default Public Device Groups

Question / issue with public device groups. I have nine critical public device groups plus a laundry list of other device groups, because Netbrain does not support regex patter matching for on-the-fly searchs for "^(r|s)AB". Anyway... This morning ALL of the public device groups are gone or deleted, I know they were there Friday as I was working with them, and I have a few questions:
  • Can I make device groups that show up as system, for these nine critical group, and only allow a very limited subset of people access to manage them?
  • Are there log files that I can search to see who deleted the device groups?
  • From a user standpoint what permissions can edit device groups? Can there be some type of role based access for device groups?
  • Is there any way the system did a refresh and deleted all of the device groups?
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 09:52 AM
Abraham L Abraham L is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 49
Default Re: Public Device Groups

Hi Eric,

Sorry to hear that these device groups got deleted and this is my answer for your questions:

  • Can I make device groups that show up as system, for these nine critical group, and only allow a very limited subset of people access to manage them?
Public device group cannot be shown as the system device group in the network pane. You can control the access to the public device group through Device group management function. If a user's role does not have permisson for this function, then he cannot create/edit/delete the public device group. You can configure this from the web interface. Please see attached file. By default the admin role has permission for this function, engineer does not.
  • Are there log files that I can search to see who deleted the device groups?
Yes, the file NetBrain\Enterprise Server\WebServer\log\ap3.log may record the operations of workstations connected to ES server. The following are examples showing the user and IP address that deleted some public device groups. However it does not show which device groups were deleted. ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2011-03-29 01:19:52,461 [8956] INFO NBAP.nbwsgen [(null)] - WebMethod 'DeletePublicDeviceGroup' start.
2011-03-29 01:19:52,471 [8956] INFO NBAP.nbwsgen [(null)] - IP:10.10.10.194 MachineName:nnnn-nd7310lnue UserName:netbrain ClientType:Type_OE
2011-03-29 01:19:52,501 [8956] INFO NBAP.nbwsgen [(null)] - WebMethod 'DeletePublicDeviceGroup' end, runtime :0.0400576 seconds
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  • From a user standpoint what permissions can edit device groups? Can there be some type of role based access for device groups?
See answer for the first question.
  • Is there any way the system did a refresh and deleted all of the device groups?
No, The system does not delete all device groups automatically.



Hope this helps.

Thanks.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg roleControl.jpg (13.0 KB, 5 views)
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 11:11 AM
Erick Erick is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 116
Default Re: Public Device Groups

Thanks for the reply. I think the issue was with my workstation. About 30-45 minutes after my post NetBrain crashed with a crashinfo file. After I restarted NetBrain all my device groups were back. Then I ran into an issue where I had dup groups because I was remaking the critical ones before the crash. I was not able to directly upload the file because of our proxy settings so here it is if that helps at all.

Code:
EAX=0018EBB0  EBX=170A0259  ECX=00000000  EDX=00000000  ESI=002EE810
EDI=002EE840  EBP=0018EC00  ESP=0018EBA4  EIP=773C4441  FLG=00000202
CS=0023   DS=002B  SS=002B  ES=002B   FS=0053  GS=002B
0023:773C4441 ntdll.dll, RtlUlonglongByteSwap()+29137 byte(s)
0023:76CCA130 kernel32.dll, DeactivateActCtx()+0040 byte(s)
0023:6F6F8784 mfc90.dll
0023:76146238 USER32.dll, gapfnScSendMessage()+0624 byte(s)
0023:761468EA USER32.dll, gapfnScSendMessage()+2338 byte(s)
0023:76150AB0 USER32.dll, FillRect()+0272 byte(s)
0023:76157B0F USER32.dll, CallWindowProcA()+0027 byte(s)
0023:6CE95328 ToolkitPro1122vc90.dll, CXTPHookManager::HookWndProc()+0216 byte(s)
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 11:40 AM
Abraham L Abraham L is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 49
Default Re: Public Device Groups

Thanks for the log. It definitely can help our dev team to find the root cause causing the crashing.
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 12:25 PM
Erick Erick is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 116
Default Re: Public Device Groups

Just had another crash, well two but only one gave a crashinfo file

Code:
EAX=193A4A91  EBX=1D1396F8  ECX=00000001  EDX=18606E00  ESI=0320A760
EDI=061328E0  EBP=0012E034  ESP=0012E028  EIP=032102AB  FLG=00010206
CS=001B   DS=0023  SS=0023  ES=0023   FS=003B  GS=0000
001B:032102AB GuiL2Map.dll, _tagGlobalColor::operator=()+227051 byte(s)
001B:0320E017 GuiL2Map.dll, _tagGlobalColor::operator=()+218199 byte(s)
001B:0320C019 GuiL2Map.dll, _tagGlobalColor::operator=()+210009 byte(s)
001B:0320ACDE GuiL2Map.dll, _tagGlobalColor::operator=()+205086 byte(s)
001B:7863BCC7 mfc90.dll
001B:031B655F GuiL2Map.dll, GuiL2MapCenterImpl::HasLoadedIp2MacDatabase()+21759 byte(s)
001B:7863BA19 mfc90.dll
001B:7863A60D mfc90.dll
001B:7863A899 mfc90.dll
001B:78638594 mfc90.dll
001B:7739B6E3 USER32.dll
001B:7739B874 USER32.dll
001B:7739BA92 USER32.dll
001B:773A16E5 USER32.dll
001B:7867A75E mfc90.dll
001B:7863EB44 mfc90.dll
001B:7865799A mfc90.dll
001B:02D7AF2D GuiBaseline.dll, CWANLinkStitchingDlg::`default constructor closure'()+19645 byte(s)
001B:02D7AFE6 GuiBaseline.dll, CWANLinkStitchingDlg::`default constructor closure'()+19830 byte(s)
On the server directly I have a copy of Workstation and it was running a full DNS lookup, been running that since yesterday, and today I kicked off a Refresh Workspace, DNS lookup still running I think. Well the above crashinfo file is from this system. My laptop where I actually work crashed about the same time but no info as to why.
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 08:56 AM
Abraham L Abraham L is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 49
Default Re: Public Device Groups

Hi Erick,

Thanks for this info and it indeed helped our dev team to locate the problem quickly. The bug is fixed in our next release (schedule in May) and we will get your Workstation upgraded when this release comes out.

Thanks again,
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 04:09 PM
Shmoo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Public Device Groups

Hi Abraham,

Sorry for posting in an old thread, but I'm seeing the same exact crash (the first one posted by Erick) in my application and was wondering if you'd be willing to share your fix?

Thanks in advance,
Drew
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 02:17 AM
eddy eddy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 98
Default Re: Public Device Groups

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shmoo View Post
Hi Abraham,

Sorry for posting in an old thread, but I'm seeing the same exact crash (the first one posted by Erick) in my application and was wondering if you'd be willing to share your fix?

Thanks in advance,
Drew
The issue has been fixed and we helped Erick upgrading the software to resovle it. Can you please tell us which NetBrain version you use. If it sure has the similar issue, we can work with you to fix it. You can email to support@netbraintech.com should you have any questions.

Thanks.

Last edited by eddy; 09-21-2011 at 09:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 11:38 AM
Shmoo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Public Device Groups

Hi,

I apologize - I probably should have been more specific. And this is probably the wrong place to ask this, but, I'm a software developer and I'm experiencing this exact error in my own application (not NetBrain). It seems you guys were able to solve it. I was just wondering if you could tell me how you were able to fix it, as it would save me a lot of headache.

Many Thanks,
Drew
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:32 AM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000-2010 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright 2009 NetBrain, Inc. All rights reserved.