Netbrain
Home NetBrain Product One-Skill-at-a-Time Search Mark Forums Read
Go BackThe Net-BrainerNetBrain Product Feature Request: Exclude device type

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-03-2010, 04:49 PM
Erick Erick is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 116
Default Feature Request: Exclude device type

I was told there is not a way, currently, to exclude certain device types. For example I want to exclude all Cisco WAP and, now it seems, all Checkpoint firewalls. I do not want these device types hogging up my license count since I believe these checkpoints are end stations which I can not do much with and the WAPs are moving over to a controller based setup.

With NetBrain discovering devices on a daily basis I need a way to not find certain systems. If I changed the Device Type under Vendor Model table would that exclude them?
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 11:32 AM
Elton Elton is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 20
Default Re: Feature Request: Exclude device type

First, it's a very good suggestion to exclude device type during auto discovery. We have added it to our roadmap. Thanks for the suggestion.
You way to modify the device type for Firewall to endsystem does the trick to exclude FW on license count. But when new release coming, the upgrade will restore the FW back.
You might consider following solution with the "Do not scan" feature:
List all WAP/FW devices to a group, export all IPs to a csv file, then from Workspace menu > Discover - "Do not scan" > right click menu > import the csv file. Then you can delete the WAP/FW from your workspace. For any new discovery job, netBrain will not scan those IPs anymore.
Hope it helps.
Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2010, 01:12 PM
Erick Erick is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 116
Default Re: Feature Request: Exclude device type

Thanks for the suggestion Elton, I'll do that.

My issue is going to be live discovery keeps finding these types and I'll have to keep adding things manually in this manner. Since you have it on the roadmap it will make life easier once added. Any idea as to when I can see something like that?
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 11:31 PM
David.C David.C is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 118
Default Re: Feature Request: Exclude device type

We are planning this and will add this feature soon.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:28 AM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000-2010 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright 2009 NetBrain, Inc. All rights reserved.