Netbrain
Home NetBrain Product One-Skill-at-a-Time Search Mark Forums Read
Go BackThe Net-BrainerOne-Skill-at-a-Time Problem connecting Router 1900 to ASA 5520

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-17-2009, 09:17 PM
m.stone m.stone is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 29
Default Problem connecting Router 1900 to ASA 5520

Hi,
I am having issue connecting my 1900 router to my ASA 5520, setup below;

Router 1900-----------ASA 5520----------LAN

The router has tunnel in config and lot so I don't want to remove it, I want the router to just direct traffic to ASA inbound, and ASA shud direct to router for outbound.

How should I do?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 09:21 PM
David.C David.C is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 118
Default Re: Problem connecting Router 1900 to ASA 5520

Quote:
Originally Posted by m.stone View Post
Hi,
I am having issue connecting my 1900 router to my ASA 5520, setup below;

Router 1900-----------ASA 5520----------LAN

The router has tunnel in config and lot so I don't want to remove it, I want the router to just direct traffic to ASA inbound, and ASA shud direct to router for outbound.

How should I do?

Thanks
Maybe you wanna say the router has configuration you dont want to delete?. If so, you won't, only create an level 3 interconnection between router and ASA(for instance, assign 172.16.30.1/29 for router and .2 for ASA). Then create a route on router that points to ASA for reaching your LAN and assign as default gateway the router on ASA for reaching internet.
Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 08:42 PM
m.stone m.stone is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 29
Default Re: Problem connecting Router 1900 to ASA 5520

Right, I have some config on the router and I want the router to be at the edge and the ASA should be connected to the router. I hope all security will still work perfectly if the ASA is not at the edge?.......what should i configure static route or default static between the devices? please elaborate.Thanks
Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 08:50 PM
David.C David.C is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 118
Default Re: Problem connecting Router 1900 to ASA 5520

ASA will protect all the packets cross it, it's not mandatory you place ASA as edge equipment, in fact, it's not usual.

Then, ASA must be the default gateway for all networks you want to protect. If now that role belongs to router and you dont wanna change the network addressing, then, you must place ASA in transparent mode, from this way, you won't have to change any configurations on your network.

Whatever option you choose, you'll have to configure access-list on ASA in order to allow traffic you want (VPN access, internet access...)
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 09:17 PM
m.stone m.stone is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 29
Default Re: Problem connecting Router 1900 to ASA 5520

OK, thanks... Now I understand it but my issue now is I have AIP-SSM 20 module on the ASA, I still want to use the ASA in transparent mode as well as direct traffic to pass thru the ASIP-SSM 20 module, is that possible and how?
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 09:31 PM
David.C David.C is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 118
Default Re: Problem connecting Router 1900 to ASA 5520

Quote:
Originally Posted by m.stone View Post
OK, thanks... Now I understand it but my issue now is I have AIP-SSM 20 module on the ASA, I still want to use the ASA in transparent mode as well as direct traffic to pass thru the ASIP-SSM 20 module, is that possible and how?
Yes, it's possible. Take a look at this link:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/secu...guide/ips.html

Note it refers to 8.2 version
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:23 PM.
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000-2010 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.
Copyright 2009 NetBrain, Inc. All rights reserved.